Catching Up

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, so I thought I’d do a brief “catch up” on some of the things I’ve been up to.

Picnic Bread

Baking bread in the bread machine is always fun. Last week, I tried out a lovely recipe for Honey Wheat bread (not pictured), and the loaf turned out so tall and brown, like a masterpiece. Again, I can’t take credit for it…the machine did all the work.

 

100_4520

The only way to make homemade bread even better is to eat it with homemade butter…and in the great outdoors. I tried my hand at “churning” butter (i.e. putting cream in a mason jar and shaking the heck out of it). The results were pretty standard. I mean, how fancy can butter get by itself? But eating it with homemade bread on a breakfast picnic was super fun.

 

Bible Cover

A few weeks ago, I noticed my Bible cover was getting a little banged up. So, I decided to turn a piece of patchwork I had done into a “quilted” Bible cover. I used the tutorial written by Amanda at Simply Homemade, highly recommended!

 

Peacock Embroidery In Progress

This peacock is just a random design I found online. I traced it onto my fabric and am doing the outline in a stem stitch with royal blue thread. I’m thinking about adding in the Chinese characters for peacock next to the bird’s head to give it a more sophisticated look. Any thoughts?

 

100_4555

And another trip to the library yielded another stack of pretty books. I haven’t been in much of a reading mood for the last week or so, hence the stack of coffee table literature. Pictures are worth 1000 words, they say, so I’ll tell myself I’m “reading” the equivalent of War and Peace. 🙂

Happy Monday!

 

Leave a Reply

