Corn and Potato Chowder – A Recipe

Corn and Potato Chowder.jpg

I like to think that I’m not a procrastinator, but that’s not entirely true. I’m a prioritizer (if that’s even a word). I don’t really procrastinate on the stuff that has to get done right away or that I deem important. But if there’s no deadline or I can’t see the significance of completing the task, I’m likely to put it on the proverbial back burner.

Thus the story of the Corn and Potato Chowder begins.

I bought two 5-pound bags of red potatoes when they were on sale for $0.99 during the winter. And it has taken me forever to use them up. “They’re potatoes,” I told myself. “They stay good for a long time.”

There were seven potatoes still left in the bag yesterday when I got a hold of myself. No more potato procrastination! Time to use those babies up!

On top of the potatoes with the widow’s oil effect, I also have some corn left over from last summer. I bought a bushel from some local farmers and froze it, not realizing that we really don’t eat that much corn on the cob…

So, this dish was my way of “spring cleaning” the seasonal staples that really should have been gone a long time ago. Hope you enjoy!

Corn and Potato Chowder - Closeup.jpg

 

Corn and Potato Chowder

Serves 8 with leftovers (This is a HUGE pot of soup, people!)

  • 7 cups of corn stock (See Step 1)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 T. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 7 1/2 cups of red potatoes, cubed
  • 2 1/2 cups fresh or frozen corn, cobs reserved
  • 3 cups of skim milk
  • 1 t. of salt (or to taste)
  • 1 1/2 t. dried thyme
  1. Corn stock is a handy little idea I picked up from Sarah Wilson’s cookbook The I Quit Sugar Cookbook. When you remove the corn from your corn cobs, place them in a large stock pot. For every corn cob, add 1 cup of water. Bring to a boil. Add 1 teaspoon of salt for 7 cups. Simmer for one hour. Discard cobs.
  2. Saute the onion in olive oil. Add to the corn stock.
  3. Add cubed potatoes, corn kernels, salt, thyme, and milk to corn stock. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 20-30 minutes.
  4. Serve garnished with parsley. This chowder is very good with a crusty French bread.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

