Currently Reading and a Recipe

Spring Flowers.jpgHappy Tuesday to you all!

I think spring may finally be here. All of the trees are in bloom, and the colors of nature are everywhere. Such a wonderful to be alive and experience God’s blessings.

I haven’t been doing a ton of reading lately, but I have been reading some. 100_4403.JPG

I finished Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility last week, and may I say, I understand what all the hype is about. Such a great read! Beauty Begins came in today. I haven’t looked through it yet, but it’s a review book. So be on the lookout for a review! As of right now, I am reading Watchman Nee’s The Normal Christian Life. It’s amazing how God can use the words of someone who has never known me to speak directly to what I need. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve internally asked myself, “How did the author know that about me?” I’ve never read a book quite like this one. You may see a review for this one in the future, too.

Anyway, shifting gears.

Several weeks ago, my favorite grocery store had red potatoes on sale for $0.99 for 5 pounds. So, I bought a couple of bags…which have been sitting in my floor all this time…We really needed to get eating on those ‘taters, so last night I made some twice baked potatoes.

I wanted this to be a main dish recipe, but I didn’t have any meat that “matched” the recipe (i.e. no bacon). So, I adjusted some recipes I looked at to fit my own needs. I thought I’d share the recipe with you, in case you’d like to try it.

Spring must really be getting to me. I was taking the potatoes out of their tin-foil wrappers after I had baked them, and I felt like I was unwrapping a butterfly from a cocoon. And when I was scooping the potatoes out, the skins were so delicate, I felt like I was handling butterfly wings. So, in honor of my corny and poetic spring fever episode, I’m calling these Butterfly Twice Baked Potatoes.

100_4401

Butterfly Twice Baked Potatoes

Serves 4 (as main dish) or 8 (as side dish)

-8 small red potatoes, scrubbed clean            -1/2 t. (or to taste) salt
-1/2 of an onion, chopped                                   -1/4 to 1/3 c. skim milk-1 clove of garlic, minced                                    -Sharp Cheddar Cheese, shredded
-1 T. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
-1 t. (or to taste) butter

  1. Preheat oven to 425 F. Puncture potatoes with a fork or knife and wrap in tin foil. Place on oven rack and bake for 40 minutes. (If you’re using larger potatoes, you’ll have to bake longer. Try about 1 hour).
  2. In a skillet on medium heat, saute onion and garlic in olive oil until soft and tender. Remove from heat and set aside.
  3. When potatoes are done baking, remove from oven and take the tin foil off. You may want to let them cool off a little. Cut a large oval in the top of each potato – a plug – and remove it. Scrape the potato on the plug peeling into a large mixing bowl. With a teaspoon, carefully (remember the butterfly wings?) scrape out the potato and place the flesh in the glass bowl. Repeat with all 8 potatoes.
  4. Mash your potato flesh, either with a potato masher or an electric mixer. Once mashed, add onion mixture, milk, butter, and salt. Stir to combine. If mixture is too dry, add more milk. You’re going for a slightly runny mashed potato kind of texture.
  5. Spoon the potato mixture back into the potato skins. Place in a baking dish (I used a 9×13) and return to oven for 15 minutes. The tops of the potato “fluff” will start to turn brown on the peaks.
  6. Remove potatoes from the oven and sprinkle with cheese to your liking. Turn off your oven, return the potatoes, and let them sit in there for at least 5 minutes to melt the cheese. (The cheese will begin to melt on contact with the potato, so you really don’t need a lot of extra heat to get it thoroughly melted).
  7.  Serve 2 as a main dish or 1 as a side dish.

100_4402

Leave a Reply

