Home Cooked: A Review

This book is set to be released on April 5, 2016.

If you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I’m kind of a fan of the whole do-it-yourself movement. The whole homesteading, self-sustaining living thing just sounds like so much fun to me. I’d love to get a few chickens and plant some veggies and build my own larder and the whole nine yards. I’m kind of limited to what I can do in that range. But, a girl can dream can’t she?

The pioneering spirit in me longs for good books on homemade goodness. And Home Cooked by Anya Fernald was a sweet little volume of the do-it-yourself attitude.

Anya Fernald graduated college to take a fellowship making artisan cheese in Sicily. She observed how the Italians handle their food and liked what she saw – real food, real people, and real living. In Sicily, she noted, the affluent were the ones who could afford to go to McDonalds. The “commoners” were the ones who stayed at home and cooked their own meals with organic, homegrown or local ingredients.

After returning to the States, Anya decided she wanted to bring the Sicilian attitude towards food to her homeland. So, she started her own sustainable meat company, Belcampo and has advocated on a variety of levels for real food. Now, she’s written a cookbook on all her favorite homemade recipes.

I’ll admit. The cover won me over. Anya’s got on the cutest blue and white print vintage-styled dress, and she’s up to her elbows in cooking dinner. What’s not to love? This book is fairly large – 295 pages counting the index – and is hard covered. Such a bookish-feeling book, if you know what I mean.

What’s between the covers was good, too. Inside, I found recipes on how to make my own cheeses from simple dairy products (which I really want to try now). And the recipes, although somewhat exotic, use a lot of ingredients that I have in my own kitchen.  The recipes call for whole food ingredients and transform the most basic of fares (think eggs and tomatoes, meats, etc.) into fancy-schmancy dining. I am seriously considering making the eggs poached in tomato and the olive oil crackers. This is hearty Italian food at its homemade best!

 

*Note: This book was provided by Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

