The I Quit Sugar Cookbook: A Review

Note: For an updated opinion on this book, please check out my thoughts in the Easter Weekend blog post.

I’m kind of disappointed in this cookbook. (Sad face.)

I was expecting this book to be chock-full of desserts with no-added sweeteners. As in, not even Stevia or agave or whatever the newest “all-natural” is these days.You see, I have a pretty bad sweet tooth, and (unfortunately) a will-power that is sometimes made of jelly. I would love to be able to indulge in a desert every night, knowing that there’s no extra sugar in here except for what God put into the ingredients.

But, alas, this book was not exactly what I expected.

The I Quit Sugar Cookbook is filled with 306 recipes that follow Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar diet plan. Recipe categories include breakfasts, snacks, meats, fish, veggies, leftovers, deserts, and holidays, among others. The main thing I have to say for these recipes – for the cookbook as a whole – is that it simply is not my style. I am not a West Coast cooking kinda gal. I prefer the Southern, home-style dishes with a healthy spin. Give me a Paula Deen without the butter, salt, and excessive amounts of cheese, and I’ll be one happy camper.

Some of the more bizarre recipes I came across in this cookbook included bacon granola, braised celery and leeks with vanilla, and pretty in pastel pink parsnip pasta. If that sounds like your kind of thing, then go for it. But, I grew up on meatloaf and green bean kind of meals, and I’m a little set in my ways.

Now, saying all that, I did find some great things in this cookbook. I really want to try the recipe for making homemade cream cheese and homemade paneer (a type of soft cheese). Another thing I really liked about this book is Sarah’s die-hard “No Waste” policy. Lately, I’ve been trying to stretch the food dollars. For some weird reason, I get a total kick out of seeing how far I can get a head of broccoli or a roasted chicken to last. Sarah’s my girl, here. I found recipes for things like corn cob stock (as in, the corn has been eaten off of the cob already…the germaphobe in me rebels, but the cheapskate is already chewing off the golden kernels on the cob), and Sarah also gives lots of tips on how to use everything from tuna water (from the can) to carrot tops (use ’em in pesto! Who knew!)

So, I would have to say I am somewhat disappointed in this book. Most of the recipes are not my style of cooking. Some of the desert recipes have added sweetener (brown rice syrup, generally. Never any brown or white sugar). And the photography – although excellent – is not as inviting and homey as I enjoy in a good cookbook. But, I love the DIY element of the book, the upcycle and self-sustaining kind of attitude Sarah maintains throughout the book.

If you’re into different and exotic dishes with a West Coast undertone, or if you’re looking to  maximize your food dollars while still eating healthy meals, you might want to check out The I Quit Sugar Cookbook.

*Note: This book was provided by Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “The I Quit Sugar Cookbook: A Review

  1. Pingback: Easter Weekend | The Vintage Book Lady

Leave a Reply

