Paris Street Style: A Review

 

You know that old saying that circulates among bookworm circles? That sage piece of wisdom – don’t judge a book by it’s cover?

Yeah, I am so guilty of violating that little tidbit of wisdom.

I went to the library on Monday and was browsing the shelves, quite desperate to find something – ANYTHING – good to read. I have been in a slump the last week or so where I have about zero motivation to tackle any big project – including books that aren’t what you would call “brain candy.” Hopefully, I’ll get over that soon, but I digress…

Anyway, a colorful book spine caught my eye, and when I pulled the book off the shelf, it looked so cute! So colorful and summery and just right for my currently ADD mind.

I didn’t even get 20 pages into it that night before I slapped it shut. Nope, this one sure ain’t a keeper.

What does all this have to do with Paris Street Style?  Well, I judged this book by its cover, too, only everything turned out a lot better.

At first, I thought this book (based on the cover) looked metallic and geometric, definitely not my style. But I was so excited when I opened the box that arrived on my door today carrying this coloring book.

The first hint about how the awesomeness of this book is the little elastic closure band that wraps around the front cover, like the kind you find on journals and diaries. But, it only gets better (humor me, here, people. I’m excited about this book, and I’m sounding obnoxious and dramatic).

100_4357

The pages are so Parisian – so feminine and fun and springy. Just what I need to get over the spring fever that is setting in all too quickly. This book is not your typical adult coloring book. It’s youthful and vibrant and girly and elegant.

The artist – Zoe de las Cases – fills the book with a variety of coloring pages. The book has simple, one-person close-ups with plain background, patterned pages, Parisian street scenes (my favorite), clothing conglomerations, and basic still-lifes.

100_4358

What can I say? I love this book, and I haven’t even touched a page with a coloring pencil yet. I showed the book to my sister – the ever artistic one in our family – and she noted that the pages would be great for water color (they’re quite thick).

I’m a big fan of the idea of giving girls and ladies the adult coloring books for gifts, and this one would make a great birthday gift (or Easter, if you do Easter gifts).

Or, if you’re like me and you’re just feeling like you need to DO something but nothing too major, this is a great way to channel that creative energy into something fun for the spring season.

You can purchase the book through Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Note: This book was provided by Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

