Little Felted Dogs: A Review

I was worried this book wasn’t going to find its way into my life. I had ordered it for review several weeks ago, and the UPS man still had not showed up at my door. Then, today, I came home to a box with this little treasure in it. What a sweet surprise, and just when I had just about given up hope!

I’ll be honest with you. I have never felted anything in my life. But just looking at this book online made me want to give it a try. Now that I’ve been able to actually see all of the book’s adorable little pups, I will definitely give felting a try if I ever get the chance.

For those of you like me who have never touched a felting needle, never fear! Author Saori Yamazaki provides photographic instructions on the basic and advanced techniques needed to create the little canines in this book. However, be warned. If you need a picture to walk you through every single step when you’re making a project, you may want to practice a little with felting before you pick up this book. Each individual project does not have photographic instructions. So, unless you feel comfortable just referencing a general (albeit, thorough) instruction section, you may want to hold off on making one of the projects until you try something a little easier.

As a whole, this book appears to be pretty thorough. For each project, Yamazaki provides you with a list of all the materials you will need, as well as written directions and a visual graph of what your dog’s finished measurements should be. She also provides helpful tips and cautionary facts to keep in mind as you work on your project.

Now for the best part.

These puppies are just too darn adorable. I was flipping through the book trying to pick out which one was my favorite, and I just couldn’t do it. Way too hard. Aside from the dogs featured on the front cover, the book also provides instructions on how to make an Irish setter, a shih tzu, a bordered collie, a Scottish terrier, a bulldog, and many other breeds. (I will say, I wanted to see a beagle in there since that breed is near and dear to my heart. But, hey, you can’t have everything, right? And these pups are definitely cute enough to compensate not having a beagle in the mix.)

If you’re looking for a new hobby to jazz up these dull, winter evenings, check out Little Felted Dogs and get started on felting a menagerie of furry, four-legged friends.

 

Note: This book was provided by Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

