Just Some Thoughts

File:Milky Way Galaxy.jpg

I just realized today that all I have posted for the last few months have been reviews. So, to get into some more personal stuff, I just wanted to write a few thoughts that have been circulating through my head this week.

I have always loved astronomy, and lately, I’ve been doing a lot of reading on the subject, some of which are mini “lectures” from the book The Bedside Baccalaureate. As I began to do a little research on some questions I had concerning the universe, I was again blown away by the vastness of our Creator and the tininess of who we as humans are. I stumbled across a secular article on PBS’s website entitled “How Big Is Our Universe.” These words from the author floored me:

There is every reason to think that the universe extends a long way beyond the part of the universe we can see. In fact, a variety of observations suggest that our visible patch may be a small fraction—maybe an infinitely small fraction—of the whole universe.

The author was making the point that because of the speed at which light travels, humans are limited to the distance they can observe out in the universe. Essentially, the author said, we have a horizon in the universe over which we cannot see.

And I got to thinking…they say the universe is about 46 billion light years big, way too large for my brain to comprehend. And we cannot see more than a minute fraction of the universe’s distance. Yet, God is bigger than all of that. He’s bigger than black holes and supernovae explosions. He’s bigger than ISIS and al Quaida. He’s bigger than cancer and foreclosure and poverty and hatred.

Isaiah 40:12 asks us, “Who has measured the waters in the hollow of his hand, or with the breadth of his hand marked off the heavens? Who has held the dust of the earth in a basket, or weighed the mountains on the scales and the hills in a balance?”

The God who scaled out the universe using His hands as a measuring tape cares enough to call you and me His children. He cares enough to leave the glory of Heaven and come to the Earth to be one of us, to put up with our self-righteousness, our hypocrisy, our ignorance.

The grandeur of God – His Love and His Majesty – is big. Big. Big. Big. And I’ve found comfort this week knowing that my Big, Loving God is in control of my problems – both present and future. I hope you will, too.

~The Vintage Book Lady

Leave a Reply

