Super Foods Every Day: A Review

I like to read about food almost as much as I like to eat it. And I’m always on the lookout for a good, normal-sounding recipe that uses wholesome ingredients. So when I saw Super Foods Every Day by Sue Quinn, I thought this would be the book for me.

This is a cookbook that shows readers how to cook with some of the world’s healthiest ingredients, things like kale and blueberries. The book includes an index that lists each major fruit, vegetable, nut, etc. and their major nutritive properties. The recipe section of the book is divided into 6 sections – breakfast; salads, soups, and small plates; side dishes; main dishes; baked goodies; and sweet things. Some of the recipes that caught my eye include the Choco Breakfast Smoothie, Crunchy Cherry Toasts, Peanut Hummus, Cheesy Vegetable Pie, and Berry Dream Frozen Yogurt.

This book wasn’t exactly what I expected. I was hoping for more recipes that weren’t like all the other ones I find in “health” cookbooks. Something, I don’t know, that looks a little more like something I grew up eating than something I’d only find in a gourmet restaurant. But, this book definitely has more of what I would call “normal” recipes than any other healthy cookbook I’ve read in a while. I also like that Ms. Quinn’s recipes use basic ingredients. A lot of times, these healthy cookbooks will have you out looking in some remote corner of the grocery store for an ingredient you can’t even pronounce. I don’t think you’ll run into that problem with this cookbook.

All in all, this is a pretty good cookbook. I definitely like to have it on hand for the nutrition index, a very handy tool in my house! And I’m looking forward to trying some of the recipes. Yum!

Note: I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a comment