Just Add Watercolor – A Review

51u1325dgdl-_sy363_bo1204203200_

I’ll be the first to admit. I don’t have an artistic bone in my body. My sketching skills stop at the stick-man level, and if I had to mix up a batch of nectarine orange paint, I’d probably get a nice shade of black. My artistic medium is more of the home-ec type of thing: sewing, knitting, crocheting. That’s my forte. Not paint (sadly).

I think since I find real art so difficult to create, I love it so much. Recently, I’ve found myself falling in love with art – viewing the masterpieces, seeing the techniques, and hearing the stories behind the works. So, reading Just Add Watercolor  was such a fun Thanksgiving weekend project! I think I finished this in a little more than 24 hours. It’s such an adorable little book!

Just Add Watercolor, a pint-sized volume by Helen Birch, is a conglomeration of different artists’ work compiled in a hardcover book. Each page features a different “masterpiece” along with Birch’s breakdown of the techniques most effectively used in that piece. The book is divided into 6 major sections, which include:

-Traditional Watercolor

-Gouache

-Digital

-Mixed Media

-Other water-based Media

-Non-paper media

The book wraps up with some instructions on selecting the proper tools for beginning watercolor painters and instructions on how to showcase paintings for the more advanced artistic readers.

Although a rudimentary knowledge of art techniques (especially in the watercolor medium) is helpful to understand the author’s comments on the paintings, you don’t need to know a diddly-squat about art to appreciate the absolutely adorable paintings in this book (You can see a preview of these cute little prints on the cover of the book).

This is a great read for the art-lover, and it would make a great gift for this Christmas season!

Note: I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest opinion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

