Anne of Green Gables: The Play – A Review

Anne of Green GablesI’m working my way (slowly) through my 10 Book Reading Challenge. I actually read this play a while ago, but I forgot I had intended to blog about it. Oops.

If you’ve been reading my blog for the last few months, you know I love Anne of Green Gables. So, when I saw the play for sale at Goodwill, I couldn’t resist. Sadly, it was not all that I thought it would be.

Anne of Green Gables (dramatized by Joseph Robinette) follows the basic plot of the Anne of Green Gables novel. We see Anne coming to Green Gables, cracking her slate over Gilbert’s head, going to Queens – all the episodes we love so much about Anne. The story itself isn’t lacking, but the presentation was only so-so. I felt like it was too dramatized, too overstated. It doesn’t flow as naturally as the book and in some places, the characters feel a little forced.100_4271

I am not a drama critic. I really know very little about the theater. Granted, I didn’t get to see this play performed, but I didn’t really care for it as literature. If you’re an Anne of Green Gables fan, it might be worth it to check it out, especially if you have the opportunity to actually see it performed.

Leave a Reply

