Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus – A Review

Do you ever find yourself so excited about something and then not able to convey that excitement to the degree that it deserves? Oh, yeah, that’s where I’m at right now. If I could sit down and talk to you, face-to-face, I could probably get through to you how much I enjoyed today’s book for review, but I don’t feel like my written word is going to do it justice. Anyway, I’m going to try, so if my thoughts seem scattered and random and totally Doug from the movie Up, please forgive me.

Having been raised in a Christian home in the good ol’ U.S. of A, I never really had the opportunity to meet any Muslims. All of my life, I feared them, thinking they hated Christians and would therefore hate me. After reading I Am Mulala, I really began to question what exactly the Islamic faith is all about. Some Muslims claim the Qu’ran is a book of peace, and that Muhammed was THE example on how to be “good.” And then, there are those who obviously believe the Qu’ran instructs them to murder innocent men, women, and children after subjecting them to unspeakable cruelties. To be quite honest, it is all so confusing, and I was left wondering, “What exactly is Islam?”

I’ve been involved in a kind-of apologetics discussion group since August, and we have been talking a lot about the different kind of worldviews that exist in our society today. As part of our material, we are reading the book, Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus, which basically outlines the Islamic worldview for a non-Eastern, American reader like yours truly. Our group is slowly reading our way through it…well, everyone else is, I suppose…I got a little reading-happy a couple of weeks ago and read the whole thing (hangs head in shame). Fellow book ladies, this is one you have GOT to read!

Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus is Nabeel Qureshi‘s autobiography about how he converted to Christianity after growing up in a very devout Muslim home. As a young man, Nabeel was a passionate witness and apologist of the Muslim faith. Having grown up immersed in the Qu’ran and Hadith (Muslim tradition), he developed a love for the ways of Muhammed that inspired him to be the perfect Muslim. Of course, God obviously had other plans, and as we all know, His plans always trump our own.

While in college, Nabeel met David, a Christian young man on his forensics team. Somehow, the two developed a tight relationship, albeit one that was filled with many differences of opinions. Nabeel strongly defended Islam while David repeatedly showed him the historic and logical errors of the Muslim faith.

Through David’s and Nabeel’s arguments and Nabeel’s slow discovery that Islam is not the peaceful, perfect religion it claims to be, I learned so much – not only about Nabeel’s faith but also about my own. This book is an apologetics lesson in riveting format, and I could not keep myself from devouring the book way more quickly than I was supposed to.

Because our Western world is colliding more and more every day with the Islamic culture, it is vitally important that we understand the lifestyle and beliefs of these individuals. Nabeel, now a Christian apologist on staff with Ravi Zaccharias ministries, shows readers the heart-felt beliefs of all Muslims. What I loved about his story is that he doesn’t demonize the Muslims. His family is really a lot like yours and mine. His purpose in life is not to turn Christians against Muslims, but to get followers of Christ to understand where these individuals are coming from so that we can reveal to them the truth of the Gospel and the love of Christ. He brings the Bible and faith in the one true God to a whole new level, showing readers that part of our spiritual battle includes some top-notch apologetics skills. After all, 1 Peter 3:15 instructs us to “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect.” This is what Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus is all about.

If you get a chance to pick up a copy of Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus, I heartily recommend it. This is a book you will be very glad you read!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

