The 10 Book Reading Challenge

Painting by G.M. Crespi

I have the feeling I’m not the only person out there who avidly collects books without giving thought to the shelf space that is slowly becoming smaller and smaller.

When I hear about a really great book or I find a classic for a quarter at a thrift shop, I don’t think twice about when I’m going to read it or where I’m going to put it. I just slap the money down and take it home.

And then, when I get home, it hits me. Oops.

I think that’s one of the most frustrating things – not having enough bookshelf space. Because, if you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I am a little bit of an organization freak in certain areas. My bookshelf is definitely one of those places.

I’ve been telling myself, “I’ll read these books soon.” Yeah, right. Every trip to the library quickly refutes any promises I had made that I’ll read the books on my own shelf first.

But, I am taking my stand. I will read my books! (That’s the best goal I’ve ever had to make!:) )

So, I am taking what I am calling the 10 Book Challenge. I’ve picked 10 books from my bookshelf (pictured below), and I’ve set a goal to read them all by December 31, 2015. In case you’re having some difficulty reading the spines, as my photography skills are pretty lousy, here’s my 10 Book Challenge line-up:

100_4110

1. As You Like It by William Shakespeare – I confess, I haven’t read a lot of Shakespeare in my time. But, I am now trying to read one of his plays every 3 months. So far, I’ve made it through Macbeth and Hamlet, Prince of Denmark.

2. Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan – I’m working on this one right now. I haven’t read many allegorical works, and I’m anxious to see how much I like this one. It is, after all, a Christian classic.

3. Cannery Row by John Steinbeck – Another confession: I never heard of this book until I saw it the other day in a thrift store. It was a classic, and it had a pretty cover, so I bought it. (Shame on me – judging a book by its cover!) But, I’m actually looking forward to this one.

4. Anne of Green Gables – the play – I loved the novel, so when I saw the play for sale, my willpower to resist buying another book disappeared.

5. Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes – a children’s classic set in the Revolutionary War

6. The Bible Cure by Reginald Cherry, M.D. – a glimpse at how eating Biblical foods yields improved health and vitality

7. Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo – I’ve seen the movie a couple of times, and I loved it. The book has been on my to-read list for a while.

8. Folks, This Ain’t Normal by Joel Salatin – I started on this book last year, and I’ll say this…it is definitely interesting…that’s all I’ll say until I post a review.

9. The Rescuer by Dee Henderson – this is the 6th book in Henderson’s O’Malley Series. Is it bad to read the last book first? 🙂

10. Children of the Storm by Natasha Vins – an autobiography about Christian life in the Soviet Union

If you’d like to join me on my reading journey, I’d love to hear what you’re reading!

Happy Reading,

~The Vintage Book Lady

Leave a Reply

