Heartsighs: That Darn Cat!

           

Rain drops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens, brown paper packages tied up with strings….
These are a few of my favorite things.

Our favorite things – isn’t that everyone’s favorite topic of discussion? Their favorite books, movies, songs? Their favorite foods, sports teams, animal?

I think its part of human nature to want to share something you enjoy so much with those you care about. When something about a certain book sets your heart fluttering, you feel like running out into the street and giving away free copies to every stranger you meet. Or when that song comes on the radio…yeah, we roll our windows down at the stoplight and blast away the poor guy in the car next to us.

Human nature is a hard thing to kick.

And, being only human, I also love to share what I love with the people around me. So, that’s why I’m starting a Heartsighs posting category containing some of my own favorite things that I hope you too will enjoy. Movies, books, poems, actors and actresses…heck, I might even throw in a funny commercial every now and then.

I’m kickstarting this category with one of my all-time favorite movies – That Darn Cat! (1965) starring Haley Mills, Dean Jones, Dorothy Provine, and Roddy McDowall. As far as I’m concerned, this movie is one of Disney’s top-notch films. I love Dean Jones movies. He’s such a versatile actor and definitely one of my favorites. (As a side – he’s also a Christian!) And Haley Mills…I grew up watching Pollyanna and The Parent Trap. I love her accent! I haven’t seen Dorothy Provine in much – an episode of The Real McCoys and in It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World, but I have to say, she nails Ingrid Randall in this movie. And Roddy McDowell…oh, gracious. He plays Gregory Benson, a lawyer/sissy mama’s boy who is capable of making some seriously crazy faces. Cracks me up.

I watched this movie today, and it was really pretty pathetic. About every five minutes, I found myself quoting the actors’ lines along with them. And then the next second, I’d be cracking up at something funny they did, even though I’ve seen the movie about a dozen times. I’m convinced Disney’s golden era was the 1960s-1970s. While I don’t keep up too well with the animated features, the family movies they put out at that time are the epitome of a good movie. You don’t have to worry about trashy scenes, crude humor, violence, swearing, etc. You can just sit back and laugh until you think you’ve cracked a rib or two. If you’re following this blog, you’ll probably see me talking about a few more of my favorite Disney films from this era. I’ve got a couple more coming to mind. 😉

I’ll let the trailer give you a synopsis, but I promise you, it doesn’t do the movie justice. (Apologies for the subtitles!)

(Just as a side note, I want to raid Haley Mills’ and Dorothy Provine’s closets. Ugh, why can’t I find clothes like that? So elegant and put together!)

Leave a comment and share your favorite movie gushings with me!

~The Vintage Book Lady

Leave a Reply

